276°
Posted 20 hours ago

A Million to One

£4.495£8.99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

She ran away from boarding school because she wanted freedom and whatever, but then turned around and started stealing from the very social class she originally hailed from.

But what do we really know about our elected representatives and how they work, what good they do, and what really happens behind the scenes? No, she’s out for the ultimate prize: the Rubiyat, a one of a kind book encrusted with gems that’s worth millions. To access you ebook(s) after purchasing, you can download the free Glose app or read instantly on your browser by logging into Glose. And so, unless you read books without looking at the cover first, you’ve likely noticed the wonderful diversity on the cover of A Million to One.

This is where Adiba has full authority, embracing a bit of a hedonistic approach as well, keeping their fates ambiguous until the very end. It feels so rushed that it seemed like an excuse to cover up the fact that Josefa recruited the only three other girls she already knew. And with the Titanic sailing ever further north, the girls' chances of survival are a million to one.

This high-seas heist is described as a novel that ‘gives Titanic an Ocean’s 8 makeover…an immersive story that makes readers forget one important detail – the ship sinks. Josefa is a thrill seeker, something about the danger of almost getting caught, of thieving and getting away with it. A countdown in the chapter headings adds a sense of urgency--will the girls succeed before time runs out? No, this book isn’t about sinking ships, it’s about found family, it’s about friendship, it’s about love, and it’s about second chances. I thought she was antagonistic for no reason and this frustrated me to no end while reading the book.Even when the ship is taking in water, there does not seem to be much of a panic and characters move with ease, hardly noticing the inevitable tilt to the decks.

The girls are all from different and often very difficult backgrounds – they have no family to back them up and all meet through their lodging house – a depressing place in Dublin with strict rules. Everything that should have been interesting about this novel—getting the gang together, the Titanic setting, carrying out the heist, the romance—was glossed over in favor of a good 100 pages of dithering in between each major plot point. These were dedicated to Josefa assembling her crew, which is the kind of beat that I really enjoy in any kind of heist plot. I also have to be honest, Jaigirdar does not meaningfully engage with any of the diversity her characters are supposed to bring. The majority of the novel ended up being a bunch of meaningless dithering about on the Titanic, which was intended to…build up the suspense, I supposed, but it felt like far too many pages of The Gang running around the ship, chatting with a boy or two, trying to throw the guards off their trail, and making no progress whatsoever.

TITANIC FACT: Although the ship could carry 3,547 people, only 2,223 passengers and crew were on board. And even though any darker-skinned passengers were simply referred to as “Italians” by crew members, this is simply and obviously not the case. The characters in this supernatural odyssey are well-drawn, the plotting is brilliant and just when you think you know where the story is going, Mr. Perfect for fans of Stalking Jack the Ripper and Girl in the Blue Coat, this high-seas heist from the author of The Henna Wars is an immersive story that makes readers forget one important detail — the ship sinks.

They should also be at the beginning of the ARCs themselves and the beginning of the final copies of the book. TITANIC FACT: The ship took 2 hours and 40 minutes (160 minutes) to sink after it struck the iceberg. VERDICT Dramatic, moving, and energetic, this diverse historical novel about found family and choices at the end of the world is a YA must-have from the author of Hani and Ishu's Guide to Fake Dating.The scary newbie is Troy “The Bread Man” Forester, a psychopathic torturer and serial killer in the tradition of Hannibal Lecter. But would a rich white woman really be traveling with Black and Asian companions – as equals rather than servants – in 1912?

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment